Skip to main content


Individual tickets available from 28 October






Available now as part of a Friday Evenings subscription


Friday 19 August 2022

7:30pm at Hamer Hall

If purchasing a 2022 subscription series, you can add this concert to your subscription and save 10%.

Add tickets to a subscription


Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Jaime Martín conductor
Christopher Moore viola


Berlioz Harold in Italy
Tchaikovsky Manfred Symphony

About this performance

The prose of Lord Byron provides the artistic inspiration behind two large-scale symphonic poems by Berlioz and Tchaikovsky. MSO Principal Viola Christopher Moore assumes the instrumental role of Harold, a character who wanders through a tableau of Berlioz’s creation.

  • After the success of his startling Symphonie Fantastique, Berlioz was approached by the virtuoso violinist Paganini. Having recently acquired a Stradivarius viola, Paganini was looking for repertoire for the instrument. Harold in Italy was the result – a symphonic poem inspired by Lord Byron’s Childe Harold and Berlioz’s own travels in Italy.
  • Fifty years later, a composer suggested to Tchaikovsky that he write a symphonic work based on another of Byron’s poems, Manfred. Tchaikovsky became absorbed in the work during a trip to the Swiss Alps, dividing the work into four scenes with rich orchestral colour and dramatic nuance.

Duration: approx. 125 minutes including interval

COVIDSafe Information

The MSO and the venues in which we perform will operate under government health and safety guidelines in place at the time of the event. Information about protocols in place will be included in the pre-concert email sent to attendees a few days prior to the performance.

Stay tuned. Sign up.