Skip to main content


Individual tickets available from 28 October






Available now as part of a Monday Evenings subscription


Monday 07 November 2022

6:30pm at Hamer Hall

If purchasing a 2022 subscription series, you can add this concert to your subscription and save 10%.

Add tickets to a subscription


Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Jaime Martín conductor
Jonathan Biss piano


Brett Dean Piano Concerto - Gneixendorf Music, a Winter’s Journey (Australian premiere of MSO co-commission)
Beethoven Symphony No.5

About this performance

Experience the grandeur of Ludwig van Beethoven at the height of his powers, alongside the Australian premiere of a bold new work by Brett Dean – inspired by Beethoven’s own piano concertos.

  • Over five years, Biss co-commissioned five composers to produce their own piano concertos in response to Beethoven’s contributions to the genre. Brett Dean’s atmospheric Gneixendorf Music, a Winter’s Journey was informed by a summer spent in the small Austrian village where Beethoven resided for a few months towards the end of his life.
  • Symphony No.5 opens with the most famous ‘da da da duumm!’ in history. But there is more to this piece than its impactful beginning: Beethoven takes a number of simple themes and expertly weaves them into a layered musical texture, all while building a sense of dramatic urgency.

Duration: approx. 1 hour, no interval

COVIDSafe Information

The MSO and the venues in which we perform will operate under government health and safety guidelines in place at the time of the event. Information about protocols in place will be included in the pre-concert email sent to attendees a few days prior to the performance.

Stay tuned. Sign up.