Skip to main content


Individual tickets available from 28 October






Available now as part of a Create Your Own Series subscription


Thursday 30 June 2022

7:30pm at Hamer Hall

Friday 01 July 2022

7:30pm at Hamer Hall

If purchasing a 2022 subscription series, you can add this concert to your subscription and save 10%.

Add tickets to a subscription


Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Xian Zhang conductor
Lu Siqing violin
Sen Guo soprano
Jacqueline Dark alto
Diego Torre
Jonathan Lemalu bass
MSO Chorus
Warren Trevelyan-Jones chorus master


Zhao Jiping Violin Concerto No.1
Beethoven Symphony No.9

About this performance

Xian Zhang, the first female conductor to hold a titled role with a BBC Orchestra, joins forces with the MSO, MSO Chorus, and violinist Lu Siqing to present this program featuring Beethoven’s enduring symphonic masterpiece.

  • Zhao Jiping is one of China’s most active and internationally-regarded composers, whose film scores have twice earned him the coveted Golden Rooster Award for Best Music. His Violin Concerto No. 1 bathes us in soaring melodies and lush harmonies, played by illustrious violinist and MSO Artistic Ambassador Lu Siqing.
  • Beethoven’s truly epic final symphony features a huge orchestra, impressive singers in gorgeous gowns, an enormous choir producing a wall of sound, and the famous Ode to Joy in what has been described as the ‘symphony to end all symphonies’. Need we say more?

Duration: approx. 2 hours including interval

COVIDSafe Information

The MSO and the venues in which we perform will operate under government health and safety guidelines in place at the time of the event. Information about protocols in place will be included in the pre-concert email sent to attendees a few days prior to the performance.

Stay tuned. Sign up.