Skip to main content

Concert Postponed

Due to the lockdown implemented in Victoria, this performance will be rescheduled.

We are working to finalise a replacement date and West Gippsland Arts Centre will notify ticket holders as soon as this is confirmed.


Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Fabian Russell conductor
Konstantin Shamray piano
Owen Morris trumpet


Stravinsky Concerto in E-flat Dumbarton Oaks
Shostakovich Piano Concerto No. 1
Elena Kats-Chernin Dance of the Paper Umbrellas
Prokofiev Symphony No. 1 Classical

About the performance

Pianist Konstantin Shamray, trumpet player Owen Morris and conductor Fabian Russell bring Russian mastery to Warragul with the towering talents of Stravinsky, Shostakovich, Prokofiev and Australian composer Elena Kats-Chernin.

Premiering in 1933 with the composer himself at the piano, Shostakovich’s first piano concerto is intentionally technically astounding – so he could showcase his own significant talents in performance! Also included in this program is Prokofiev’s compact masterpiece, his Classical Symphony, reminiscent of Haydn.

The concert is completed with Stravinsky’s Concerto in E-flat, penned for the 30th wedding anniversary of a prominent American couple whose house was named Dumbarton Oaks, and Elena Kats-Chernin’s brisk and playful Dance of the Paper Umbrellas.

Creativevictoria 120

The MSO’s Regional Touring program is proudly supported by Creative Victoria, Freemasons Foundation Victoria, Robert Salzer Foundation, Sir Andrew & Lady Fairly Foundation, The Ray & Joyce Uebergang Foundation.

Stay tuned. Sign up.